Welcome to World Footy News Wednesday, February 21 2024 @ 07:44 pm ACDT

Mogens Hansen DAFL\'s Best and Fairest, Reading take the Sheepstation Cup

  • Saturday, October 09 2004 @ 09:18 am ACST
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 3,147

The DAFL held the annual post-season Sheepstation Cup and its end of season awards ceremonies on the weekend of September 25th and 26th, with North Copenhagen's Mogens Hansen taking the Sitch Medal for the Best and Fairest player in the DAFL and Britain's Reading Roos defeating the DAFL Wannabees 38-33 in the Cup Final.

It was the second Sitch Medal for Hansen, his first coming back in 1998.

In other awards, Farum's Thore Lauritzen took Best First Year Player, Robin Barté of Helsingborg West won the Most Improved Player, while the award for Best Umpire went to Dave Sullivan of Århus. Farum's Joakim Gundel won the DAFL president's award for services to Australian Rules in Denmark.

The Sheepstation Cup was this year contested by players from England, Denmark, Germany and Sweden, with composite teams formed by some of the Danish clubs. The Sheepstation Cup has become a post-season tradition in Denmark where players from across Europe have a chance to play against quality competition in a more social atmosphere, orignating as an extension of the Doktor's/Crew Cup that the DAFL has been running since 1997.