Welcome to World Footy News Saturday, December 10 2022 @ 12:09 pm ACDT

Official AFL International Cup results - Round 1

  • Wednesday, August 03 2005 @ 10:04 pm ACST
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 4,819
International Cup 2005 All the final scores, best players and goalkickers after the first round of the 2005 International Cup. Note that latest scores will generally be first available at The Footy Record as linked on our front page.

Round 1 of the five round fixture was then played out in an impressive display of skill, enthusiasm and sportsmanship.

Results – Round 1:

Japan 13.10.88 def Spain 2.5.17

Goals Japan: Michito Sakaki 3, Yuta Kobayashi 2, Hiroyuki Shiba 2, Yosuke Kuno 2, Yusuke Hoshi 2, Tsuyoshi Kase 2

Goals Spain: Pablo Mas 1

Best Japan: Michito Sakaki, Yosuke Kuno

Best Spain: Andres Antequera

Ireland 4.7.31 def Canada 3.5.23

Goals Ireland: Derek Troy 3, Diarmuid Griffin 1

Goals Canada: Adrian Lagan 1, Mark Van Gelder 1, Dale Simnett 1

Best Ireland: Mike Finn, David Stynes, Mark Kilgallon

Best Canada: Rob McElwain, Chris Cunningham, Stefan Leyhane, Darrel Smith

USA 9.8.62 def South Africa 4.10.34

USA Goals: Dustin Jones 2, Brad Pope 2, Chris Carroll 2, Frank Bradley 1, George Lakomy 1, David Walker 1

South Africa Goals: Matthew Fick 2, Tumelo Modisane 2

USA Best: Donnie Lucero, Brad Pope, Kyle Streuski, Dustin Jones, Frank Bradley, George Lakomy

South Africa Best: Steven Malinga, Gladwin Sekete, Motheo Kesimolotse

New Zealand 8.8.56 def Great Britain 3.4.22

Goals New Zealand: Paul Gunning 2, Dougal Henderson 2, Andrew Congalton 2, Andrew Marsden 1, Craig Ashton 1

Goals Great Britain: Rob Burgess 2, Martin Anderson 1

Best New Zealand: Geoff Thomas, Dougal Henderson, Paul Gunning

Best Great Britain: Julian Ford, Rob Burgess, Conor Walsh, Vincent Carey

PNG 8.11.59 def Samoa 6.6.42

Goals PNG: Alister Sioni 2, Anaga Isaac 2, Junior Aria 1, Overa Gibson 1, Navu Maha 1, Stanley Tepend

Goals Samoa: Paul Maalona 3, Fia Tootoo 2, Mateta Kirisome 1

Best PNG: Stanley Tepend, Overa Gibson, Navu Maha, Dominic Livuana, Walter Yangomina, Rex Leka

Best Samoa: Mateta Kirisome, Fia Tootoo, Chris Teniselli, Lafoga Sefo, Paul Wright