Welcome to World Footy News Thursday, June 20 2024 @ 09:48 am ACST

Bloods take second Scottish premiership

  • Friday, November 04 2005 @ 04:44 pm ACDT
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 4,720

2005 will go down in history as the year Scotland probably had its first Australian rules Grand Final (unless the famous, though widely thought to be fictitious competition referred to be C.C.Mullen in his 1958 'History of Australian Football' actually existed), as the Edinburgh Bloods convincingly defeated the Glasgow Sharks 83-13 on a typical Scottish autumn day.

This was actually the SARFL's second season, with the Bloods also winning last year's competition though a Grand Final was not held. This report courtesy of Eddie McAvinchey of the SARFL.

The Edinburgh Old Town Bloods ran out convincing winners of the SARFL Grand Final on 22 October when they defeated the Glasgow Sharks 12. 11 (83) to 1. 7 (13) in a wet and cold Edinburgh.

Two early Scott Robin goals for the Bloods gave them a comfortable cushion early on, and it wasn’t until the second quarter that Sharks made a real impact with Sam Reynolds scoring a major for the Glasgow side. The game remained close however during most of the first half, with Edinbugh being given very little time or space, relying on more accurate finishing than Glasgow to maintain and build a lead. Glasgow wasted a number of good scoring opportunities to bring themselves back into the game, but Edinburgh were wasting nothing at the other end. The half-Australian, half-local Glasgow Sharks struggled to impose themselves against the Bloods tight and efficient Australian side, who were missing Ireland’s International Cup star Clifford Richardson through a shoulder injury. The third and fourth quarters saw the Edinburgh side play some champagne footy, with Grant McCarthy stamping his authority in the centre with some great distribution of the ball, allowing Julian Callaghan and Scott Robins to benefit in front of goal on a number of ocassions. Dogged work on the ball by Andy Butler and Sam Reynolds of Glasgow kept the Sharks competitive, but the game was over as a contest in the third quarter.

The Puffin of the Year award went to Edinburgh’s Grant McCarthy who had an excellent season, while SARFL Best & Fairest (an award open only to non-Australian players in the SARFL) was won by Clifford Richardson. Best on the day for Edinburgh and winner of a bottle of Bruichladdich whisky was Grant McCarthy, while for Glasgow the winner (and happy recipient of a further bottle of Bruichladdich) was Steve Yates.

The official SARFL Grand Final site can be viewed here.