Welcome to World Footy News Tuesday, January 31 2023 @ 06:59 am ACDT

IC17 Nauru Chiefs named

  • Wednesday, May 03 2017 @ 08:18 am ACST
  • Contributed by:
  • Views: 3,501
International Cup 2017

The Nauru Chiefs have named their final 30-man squad for the 2017 AFL International Cup to be held in Melbourne from August 5th.  Fourteen returning members of the IC14 squad such as Yoshi Harris, Trent Depaune, Johnny Dagiaro (this will be Johnny's fourth International Cup) and Kenneth Oppenheimer will give the side some solid experience. 

While there will also be plenty of excitement from newcomers such as Richmond Spanner, Niga Haulangi and Shawnkemp Maaki.

The Chiefs finished seventh at IC14 defeating the USA, Great Britain (twice), Indonesia and losing only to eventual runners up Ireland by 27 points in Bendigo after being just three points down at 3/4 time.  They will be looking to push higher at IC17.

The Chiefs should be feared by all teams that give themselves a realistic chance at the IC17 title as their hard fast football will be complemented by a more thinking game around the stoppages.  Domestically in Nauru the game has probably never been better organised both at senior and junior level I expect this squad will show the benefits of that.

The full squad is: 


Bronco Deidenang Kangaroos
Yoshi Harris Magpies
Kenneth Oppenheimer Magpies
Aykers Daniel Bulldogs
Joeson Kanimea Kangaroos
Trent Depaune Cats
Tipung Kamtaura Bombers
Donatello Moses Bulldogs
Jencke Jeremiah Hawks
Richmond Spanner Magpies
Johnny Dagiaro Bombers
Mallinson Batsiua Magpies
Darnel Diema Hawks
Pilo Dagiaro Cats
Dave Mwaredaga Magpies
Agir Nenabo Amwano Bombers
Kais Tatum Bombers
German Grundler Bombers
Tiana Waidubu Cats
Charles Dagiaro Kangaroos
Jose TripleJ-Jems Uepa Bulldogs
David Japheth Adeang Cats
Jeremiah Gil Kam Hawks
Devine Agir Bulldogs
Teolime Kamtaura Magpies
Tama Jeremiah Magpies
Niga Haulangi Bulldogs
Shawnkemp Maaki Cats
Ishmael Fritz Hawks
Mick Vorbach Bombers